Places– of charm

When I talk to friends about my vegetable garden, they have stories to share.  Reba says it’s a waste of time since wild bunnies make it their salad bar.  Mary Alice tells of squash plants twining around everywhere and choking out competition.  Dash finds bore holes in his green beans.  No one likes to eat vegetables and fruit with teeth marks!  Janessa’s shaded yard has poor soil.

In spite of the above struggles, I enjoy my tomatoes, asparagus, lettuce, herbs, zucchini, and pick berries from finicky raspberry bushes.  My garden is testament of perseverance, and for me it goes beyond that.  Pulling weeds keeps me in the moment.  It gives me pause to think about others.  Yesterday I spent my day (well, six hours) bedside in the hospital to someone who desperately needed a steady calm companion.  Gardening keeps me in the here and now, but it does something special to my mind.

Image

 

6 thoughts on “Places– of charm

  1. Janessa Breckenridge

    Kathleen, you’ve got that right. I can barely grow grass in my guard. God bless you for visiting M. and sitting with her.

  2. Kathleen Rowland

    Thank you, Janessa. M. has a long road ahead and needs encouragement. She is a Hoag in CCU if you’d like to meet me there. I’ll arrive about 10.

  3. Dash Hamelton

    Life is tough when disease or pests get in the way of good health. Maybe I should give my green beans another try with a new method. I am sending up a prayer for M.’s recovery.

  4. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    We do need activities that calm and center us. I will visit M. during my lunch hour. See you later, Kathleen and Janessa.

  5. Kathleen Rowland

    Yesterday M. enjoyed hearing about the mundane things I was doing– sanding and refinishing a teak bench and gardening. She wanted me to bring up a house plant that needed trimming, and I have one that needs pruning. The breathing tube was removed yesterday, but she still has IVs.

Leave a Reply

