Eat– for Good Health

herbsDo you enjoy the taste of creamy herb French cheeses on pear and apple slices?  Soft cheese, whether from goats, sheep, cows, or soybeans, forms a perfect partnership with countless herb mixtures, both savory and sweet.  Making your own cuts money and calories.  Today I used fat free cream cheese at 14 calories per tablespoon and added minced basil, sun-dried tomatoes, chives, and lemon zest.  Using 8 ounces of fat free cream cheese and the fore-mentioned ingredients,  I shaped it into a disk about and inch high and 3 inches across.  Covered on a plate, I will chill and serve as an appetizer. 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Absolutely did not notice, Dash, but even my husband watches his calories these days. Truth is he put me in charge. He says he doesn’t feel like he’s dieting, but he has lost ten pounds since the end of tax season.

  2. Of course I have bad days, Reba. Take last night for instance– I was meeting up with my sorority alum group for a happy hour at 6 pm. I was there on time but couldn’t find the group at this trendy bar in Corona Del Mar. After asking the hostess and also the bartender (never knew where my group was meeting) I wondered if I had the date wrong and drove home. At once I checked the eVite, and I had the right place and the correct time. Interestingly 15 minutes to six someone posted a message to the eVite: “Go through the red door, turn the corner, and we’ll be in the fireplace alcove.
    I was NOT a happy camper.

  3. Reba Studebaker

    Jeez, do you know what that person’s message tells me? She wasn’t sure if people knew where to go. A bit late, I’d say, fifteen minutes before the group was supposed to be there.

  4. Heck yeah, Reba. The clue came too late. I never did like scavenger hunts. At the same time I refuse to take this personally. I’m new to this particular alum group. I was a member of this sorority at Iowa State, Ames, and decided to do some philanthropy work with the alum group here.

  5. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Obviously there was not a message board anywhere in sight announcing the group. Do you plan to go to the next get together, Kathleen?

  6. Hi Mary Alice, yes I will. Believe it or not, I learn from bumps such as this. When I’m in charge of something like this, I will check to make sure everyone knows how to get somewhere. I will go the extra mile to make sure new people feel comfortable.

Leave a Reply

