People craft– taking care of ourselves

It’s sunny in Southern California.  Living in Woodbridge Village, with the many opportunities to be outdoors, means I use sunscreen every day.  The immediate danger of too much sun is sunburn. If you looked at sunburned skin under a strong microscope, you would see that the cells and blood vessels have been damaged. With repeated sun damage, the skin starts to look dry, wrinkled, discolored, and leathery. Although the skin appears to be thicker, it actually has been weakened and, as a result, it will bruise more easily.

Just a reminder, anyone over the age of six months should use a sunscreen daily. Even those who work inside are exposed to ultraviolet radiation for brief periods throughout the day, especially if they work near windows, which generally filter out UVB but not UVA rays.  Children under the age of six months should not be exposed to the sun, since their skin is highly sensitive to the chemical ingredients in sunscreen as well as to the sun’s rays. Shade and protective clothing are the best ways to protect infants from the sun.

Woodbridge-Village-Assoc-1065

6 thoughts on “People craft– taking care of ourselves

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Important reminder, Kathleen. I’m black and still use sunscreen– I can get skin cancer too. Sun is the major cause of skin cancer, which is now the most common of all cancers. Doctors believe that most skin cancers can be avoided by preventing sun damage.

  2. Dash Hamelton

    I can remember as a kid, I was taught you need sunlight for your body to make vitamin D, because vitamin D is not found naturally in most foods. But today, many foods are fortified with vitamin D during the manufacturing process. Thus, sun exposure is not as important for the body’s vitamin D supply as it used to be.

  3. Rud Row

    I love being outdoors. It makes me feel good. And playing tennis is better for your health than watching television. But you can still protect yourself from the sun’s damaging effects while enjoying yourself outdoors.

  4. Here are the precautions I use EVERY DAY–
    I always wear sunscreen. It’s a habit, like brushing my teeth.
    I avoid sun in the middle of the day, from about 10 am to 3 pm. The ultraviolet rays, which cause sunburn, are strongest during this time.
    If I’m out mid-day, I wear protective clothing. Long sleeves and slacks, as well as a wide-brimmed hat, help protect my body against the sun’s harmful effects.
    I wear sunglasses that filter UV light.

Leave a Reply

