People craft– taking care of ourselves

My heart goes out to persons who suffer from overeating.  My daughter Janice has a dear friend whose weight trends noticeably upward.  In other words every time I see her she is heavier.  Even those of us who weigh in normal ranges, it’s a challenge to keep off holiday pounds.  Don’t we want to celebrate the season and still fit into our jeans come January?  One psychologist, Kirstin Aschbracher, PhD, University of CA San Francisco says, “Stay calm.”  It’s normal to feel overwhelmed during holidays, but minimizing anxiety helps your waistline.  Stress hormones like cortisol boost desire for sugary fatty food.  Pare down “to do” lists in order to ease holiday pressures.  Choose a few meaningful seasonal activities.  I’m cooking Thanksgiving dinner.  In early December, I’m hosting a Christmas brunch at our house.  Of course I’m cooking Christmas dinner.  That’s enough festive meals.  Our normal dinners don’t include bread and desserts.

Brian Wansink, PhD, advises us to trick ourselves.  People eat 9% of their Thanksgiving calories before they dig into the main meal.  They fill up on chips, dip, and nuts.  Skip the starters.  Then, during dinner, use the rule of two.  Dish up two of your favourite foods.  Maybe it’s sweet potatoes and green bean casserole.  The rest of the spread is less enticing.

Caroline Cederquist, MD, suggests pumping up protein.  Avoid snacking on refined carbs such as crackers and pretzels.  These foods actually stimulate our appetites.

obese-woman-eating-junk-food

9 thoughts on “People craft– taking care of ourselves

  1. Reba Studebaker

    Kathleen, I will lose opportunity to model if the weight creeps up. My specialty is modeling for the lower half of the body– skirts, shorts, and pants. I find shopping online for gifts eliminates mall frustrations. There are many high calorie eating opportunities at the mall!

  2. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    I’m going to try the suggestion from Brian Wansick who write Slim by Design– indulge in favorite foods in a limited manner, choosing the best you like first. That way the cravings are gone. I can see how a person can feel satisfied faster and aren’t likely to want more.

  3. Hey Reba, Mary Alice, and Janessa– indeed this is the time to eat mindfully. Yesterday was a bad day for me. I’ve been stressed over my son Johnny’s broken ankle. Two months ago he fell from a cliff and ended up in a creek with his foot literally turned backwards. Two helicopters flew him out. Anyway, the healing is so slow. My eating mistake was snacking on a trail mix made with wheat chex, pretzels, peanut M & Ms, etc– consumed a hefty extra meal! Oh well, I can and will do better.

  4. Dash Hamelton

    There’s no doubt in my mind that I have to plan ahead to eat healthfully. Sometimes when I feel a binge in coming on, I have a cup of tea and munch an apple. My favorite tea recipe is chamomile with a lemon peel slice and cinammon stick.

  5. Rud Row

    Sounds wonderful, Dash. Blend a banana, 1/2 cup nonfat vanilla yogurt, 1/2 cup fat free milk, 1/2 cup pure pumpkin puree, 1 and 1/2 teaspoon maple syrup, a couple shakes of ground cinnamon, and four ice cubes– blend until frothy!

  6. Janessa Breckenridge

    Kathleen, I know you use Mrs Butterworth’s lite maple syrup– thanks for letting me know about it. It’s thick, rich, and tastes better than the overly sweet regular syrup at 55% fewer calories.

Leave a Reply

