People craft– taking care of yourself

You’ve probably heard the term social capital.  It’s a new name for the old idea of contributing to your locale or wherever you find yourself– your neighbourhood, clubs or the church where you belong.  I feel the benefit of doing nice things for others or just engaging them in friendly conversation is the way to get along better.  Yesterday we hosted a Christmas Brunch at our house.  Old neighbors (from Soaring Hawk) and new neighbors (on Nighthawk) and friends from church stayed most of the day! My husband Gerry and I were exhausted but knew our efforts were worth it.  Neighborhoods function better when people know each other.  It’s easier to work out problems between friends.

We served crepes, quiches, frittatas, fruit salad, coffee, tea, orange juice and an assortment of holiday quick breads.  Daughter Janice made the crepes!

crepes

9 thoughts on “People craft– taking care of yourself

  1. Dash Hamelton

    Kathleen, we definitely develop personal friendships with some of our neighbors. I appreciate exchanging hellos. At times, I call on neighbors for help with small favors, and I offer them in return.

  2. Hi Dash, there are times when we have little problems. On Soaring Hawk a guy enjoyed playing his drums in his garage with a loud speaker. I walked over and asked if he’d mind shutting his garage door and turning off his loud speaker. His wife is one of my best friends. He honestly didn’t mind. He was just jamming and thinking everyone loved it, ha ha.

  3. Janessa Breckenridge

    I try to set a good example and be considerate of neighbors. That little problem with the drums was a disturbance, but I never said anything. I was glad you did, Kathleen. Loud noise is usually unwelcome.

  4. Dash Hamelton

    Yes, ladies, but problems can fester. I have a neighbor who swears and has loud arguments. Yesterday there was some door slamming. It’s not respectful for the elderly or for children.

  5. Our dogs bark and howl when they hear sirens. It is not fun to be blamed, and I’ve had to apologize for this barking/howling problem. I try to bring the dogs inside when this happens. At least neighbors know I’m doing something.

  6. Reba Studebaker

    That’s sweet, Kathleen! If you just had them over for a summer barbeque or Christmas brunch, chances are they won’t be as bothered!

Leave a Reply

