People appreciation

Today writer Jessie Clever is spotlighting me on her blog!  Thank you Jessie.  Here it is–

January 23, 2015 · 6:00 am

Friday Fast 5 with Kathleen Rowland

Today I welcome romantic suspense writer Kathleen Rowland to the Friday Fast 5!

Who do you credit with being your biggest influence as a writer?

My dad, a psychiatrist, told many stories about patients but never used their real names. I knew all the Urban Legends and some family sagas of our own.

Do you cast people to play the characters in your stories?

Often, I do. My black hero, Marchand LaFond, in my INTERVENUS series’ A BRAND NEW ADDRESS, has the warm, humorous good-guy personality of Michael Ealy who played Dorian in the Almost Human TV series.

What is on the top of your to be read pile?

I enjoy reading across many heat levels of romantic suspense. I recently finished reading LUSH by Beth Yarnall and A KISS TO DIE FOR by Gail Barrett. I just bought book 1 of the Spy Series, INEVITABLY A DUCHESS by Jessie Clever.  (Thanks, Kathleen!)

If they were to make a movie about you, who would play you and why?

Helen Mirren when she played the no-nonsense police detective in the British series PRIME SUSPECT. Not only do we resemble each other physically, but she works hard to prove herself and drives herself to battle frustrating circumstances.

What time of day is your best writing time? Up early with the birds or wake up in the middle of the night with an inspiration and have to go write it down?

Morning is best for me because my unconscious works wonders for my work-in-progress. I wake up with a new idea! I’m up at 6 a.m. and begin writing as soon as I have coffee. I take a break at 8 to swim laps for 45 minutes, but then I’m back at the computer. I do housework here and there and stop at 3:30 p.m. to walk the dogs and then shop/cook a healthy dinner.

What advice would you give new authors?

I advise new authors to keep a journal and take classes. Journaling gives us originality. Taking classes gives us fresh perspectives. I also give a class on point of view with the next one scheduled for March 21st, 2015. I enjoy helping others as they help me.

Don’t Miss A Brand New Address

A Brand New Address Romantic Suspense IntervenusCoverA meteor bombardment throws Earth into a 2nd Ice Age. Yardley Van Dyke promised her dying mother she’d care for their family by growing food in their greenhouse. With changing family dynamics, Yardley joins a shuttle going to the planet Venus. These new adults have diverse personalities, and in their own way fight against the uglier aspects of human nature. Will she get along with the show-off captain, Marchand LaFond?

Where to Find A Brand New Address

Amazon

Smashwords

More About Kathleen Rowland

Kathy_JulyKathleen Rowland writes under her real name. Her genre is Romantic Suspense, running the gamete from sweet to sensuous. She grew up in Iowa where she caught lightning bugs, ran barefoot, and raced her sailboat on Lake Okoboji. Now she wears flip-flops and sails a Harbor 20 with her husband, Gerry, but wishes there were lightning bugs in California.

With an M.S. in Computer Science, her writing style in “Planner”. After musing up a story, Kathleen outlines and cork-boards in Scrivener. With a hard focus on clarity, she rewrites many times to capture goal, motivation, and conflict.

Kathleen and her husband, Gerry, are proud of their five children who have flown the coop, and now she has the luxury of time to write. With hard work, dreams do come true. Her latest release, A Brand New Address, from her futuristic new adult INTERVENUS series, is available in eBook and paperback.

Leave a Reply

