People Appreciation

Author interviewer, Fiona McVie, asks the best questions!  Thank you for your generosity of time to spotlight me on your blog!  Here is the interview–

with Kathleen Rowland

Kathy_July

Name:  Kathleen Rowland

Age: the same age as Lauren Hutton

Where are you from: Sioux City, Iowa and Lake Okoboji, Iowa (in summer)

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc:

  You can take the girl out of Iowa, but you can’t take Iowa out of the girl.  Friendliness, neighbourliness, and honesty are good Midwestern qualities, but I prefer the population diversity of California.  Although three sons are biological and white, our two daughters are adopted and Hispanic.  Half of our grandchildren are white, and the other half is black or mixed race.  Interrracial marriage is comfortable in SoCal for our son, Caribbean daughter-in-law, and children.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Tirgearr Publishing offered me a contract for my romantic suspense, Deadly Alliance!  This is a dream-come-true.  I’m a writer but also a voracious reader of high quality commercial fiction.  Books from Tirgearr authors reside on my Kindle.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 With an M.S. in Computer Science, I used to design and write software and technical manuals.  At least I knew about chronological order! Later I gravitated toward fiction.  My first book, Mining Evermore, a paranormal romantic suspense, was published in 2007.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?  

In 2004 when enjoying beach reads in Maui, I decided to begin writing.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 Believe it or not, the books at the rental cottage were filled with Perry Mason paperbacks.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

 After conceiving a story, I write a synopsis. I use Scivener to corkboard chapters and scenes.  After that, I begin writing.

Fiona:  Why did you go with Tirgearr Publishing?

Pure admiration for unique books! I usually read what I enjoy writing the most, romantic suspense, but enjoyed other genres within Tirgearr—First Draw, Hellhole Series by Kotar and Gessler.  The year before I read their PirateTreasure.  After reading One Night in Dublin by Kemberlee Shortland, I am hooked on the City Nights series. I look forward to reading mysteries and contemporary romance from other authors.

Fiona: Would you recommend other authors to go with Tirgearr Publishing? 

Yes.  I recognize the team spirit and enthusiasm with everyone who “belongs” to Tirgearr.  An editor, Sharon Pickrel, has already been assigned to my book.  Covers at Tirgearr are stunning and fit the books.  Here you are, Fiona, generously granting me an interview.

Fiona: What help does Tirgearr Publishing give a author?

 Besides professional editing and cover design, authors are presented with a wealth of marketing strategies.  The pre-order concept and ARCs gives an author tools to market a book before the release date.  We are given a list of reviewers, bloggers, and places to advertise.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 The hero and heroine form an alliance.  The crime they face is deadly, and their attraction to each other is, too.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

If uncovering a crime, do what is right and honest.  Don’t be concerned about how others perceive you.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic? 

The background of Deadly Alliance is realistic.  The U.S. suffers from domestic terrorism, but characters and organizations are entirely fictional.


Fiona: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? 

The heroine, Amy Kintyre, has a caretaking quality I admire in one of my sisters. The hero, Finbar Donahue, has my husband’s tough confidence although he’s a CPA, not a former Army Ranger.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I read fiction primarily for entertainment, but favorite books have a moral compass.  The late Barbara Parker’s Suspicion series influenced my writing because of the realism.


Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m almost done reading The Lesson by Joyce Ward, and will start Rhythm of my Heart by Kemberlee Shorthand.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? 

Elena Dillon writes deep, moving New Adult. I like the issues she chooses for her characters.


Fiona: What are your current projects?

 I am outlining another romantic suspense with the tentative title, Moonlight Alliance.  Next I will write the third book of my futuristic interracial new adult Intervenus Series.


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. 

A group of friends from my high school class may not be considered and entity, but we interact and support each other.  We are spread out across the country, but every few years we get together.  On the last weekend of September, eight of us will meet up in San Francisco.  The church we belong to is a supportive and meaningful entity.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 Yes. I have goals I want to hit and continually work on my craft. Sometimes I jump around and write the most exciting scenes, but the most important scenes are the hardest to write.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 Betrayal at Crater’s Edge, book two of the Intervenus Series, could have included another fight scene.  I plan to put that scene in the third book of this futuristic new adult SciFi.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

As I was reading books, I was thinking “what if” and coming up with alternate endings.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

 

 Moonlight Alliance: Forensic psychologist Avery Creswell weeds out violent thugs in the coastal town of Moonlight Cove, California.  Vivienne Rourke, daughter of an Irish gang boss, gets in his way and under his skin.  Vivienne, an undercover cop, works her food truck, “Deep Fried to Taste,” on the seedy side of town and refuses to blow her cover.  Time and time again, they protect each other and then make love. Lies only last so long.

 


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes I go over-the-top, and then need to pull back.


Fiona: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

 Susan Squires, an acquaintance at my writing chapter, OCCRWA, continues to strike out in new paranormal territory but manages to ground the true to everyday life in her Magic series.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do love to travel, and what I learn does go into my books.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Carey Abbott designed the covers for my Intervenus series.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The research for outer space took up as much time as writing the first book of the Intervenus series, A Brand New Address.  I studied many National Geographic articles and watched hours of activity on the International Space Station.  I think it paid off.  A Brand New Address placed second in the Book Buyers’ Best.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned readers become attached to characters and enjoy a series.  Secondary characters can become stars of the next book.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Work hard but don’t rush.  The best stories need self-editing and other eyes.  A critique partner is a treasured friend, and I listen when I hear, “I don’t get this.”


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

 I’d love hearing from readers! What did you like or not like about my characters?

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 A picture book of Pinocchio, and I thought it was adorable of the woodcarver to wish for a real live boy.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 The saddest book I ever read was Sophie’s Choice. A mother, Sophie, arrived with her ten-year-old son and younger daughter in Auschwitz when a sadistic doctor tells her she can only bring one of her children and the other will be killed.  Unbearable.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

 I would enjoy speaking with my great grandmother, a wonderful storyteller who entertained us for hours.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

I haven’t thought about this, but maybe–  Thank you God for a great life.  Gerry (my husband) are you buried close by?  You are dear to my heart.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

 Swimming laps daily gets my creative juices going.  My husband and I sail a small keel-boat on Newport Harbor.  I love to cook healthy food and invite the family over.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 We are watching the series Zoo, Wayward Pines, The Last Ship, and True Detective.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Home cooking with fresh ingredients, warm Tuscan colors, and Hosier.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

A landscape architect.

 

Fiona: What is your Tirgearr Publishing page and do you have a website/blog?

Website and blog below

http://www.kathleenrowland.com/

https://kathleenrowland.wordpress.com/

Also what is your Amazon authors page

http://www.amazon.com/Kathleen-Rowland/e/B007RYMF7S/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1437606692&sr=1-2-ent

 

One thought on “People Appreciation

Leave a Reply

