Eat– for Good Health

The Green Goddess Salad, invented at San Francisco Palace Hotel in the 1920s has become a sophisticated staple. Usually it combines fresh shrimp, cucumber, artichoke hearts and cherry tomatoes with homemade green goddess dressing. Watch out for the dressing.  My low calorie recipe is just as delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp fat free mayonnaise
  • 2 Tbsp fat free sour cream
  • 2 Tbsp chives, or green part of a scallion, finely minced
  • 2 Tbsp fresh parsley, finely minced
  • 1 Tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1 average anchovies canned in oil drained, minced

All you do is mix until creamy.

GreenGoddessDressing_175_600

4 thoughts on “Eat– for Good Health

  1. Mary Alice Tallmadge

    Reba, you do– as a legs model. I’m missing one leg (knee below) and find it imperative to count calories. I want to be active. Naturally, I swim but feel more energetic when on the thin side.

  2. Rud Row

    Mary Alice and Reba, thank you for your posts. When I don’t get enough food variety, I break out of my “rigid prison” and end up gaining weight. Then, guess what, I don’t feel like exercising. I thank you, Kathleen, for your low calories Green Goddess Salad dressing recipe.

  3. Hello Reba, Mary Alice, and Ruddy– if I do eat out, I watch portion sizes. This gets harder and harder, the longer we’re on vacation. I focus on filling my plate with mostly fruits, vegetables, and lean protein.

Leave a Reply

