Setting your table for spur of the moment guests

During the holiday season, friends and relatives breeze through town.  If they phone, I invite them over.  Lunch is easy since I always have leftovers, cheese, field greens, tomatoes, and fruit for a salad.  Beverage is iced tea. Usually there is a baguette or bread sticks.  I pick flowers from my yard, arrange them in a vase, and set the table. An informal lunch is when my guest(s) and I wear jeans and a cute top. I think of my table as gift wrapping for my gift which is the food. I give a plain white tablecloth a visual knock0ut with a table runner.  Yesterday I invited a Jewish friend to lunch and didn’t want to use a green and red runner.  I put down a row of snowflake place mats, and with a vase of flowers and items on the table, it looked like a runner.

snowflakes

Leave a Reply

